Barbara Richardson: Celebrating LAF

When a lawyer is considering what kind of law they want to practice, there are a lot of different factors they usually consider, some more flashy than others. Working in private practice or corporate law can be very appealing, especially when it comes to the pay. Barbara Richardson, a Senior Attorney in the Consumer Practice Group, has had her fair share of experience in these different fields, but when it comes down to it, she believes she belongs at LAF:

Barb Richardson“It’s all about the clients. When I went to law school, I set my sights on becoming a rich, corporate attorney after growing up in poverty. During law school, I worked at a private law firm and a corporation. Although the pay was attractive in private practice, I did not feel the excitement and adrenaline flowing when completing tasks. My heart longed to make a difference in people’s lives. As a result, I sought Legal Assistance Foundation during my last year of law school while working in my law school’s legal clinic. Over 24 years later, I have not regretted my decision to help indigent clients. I wake up with energy and excitement every morning (even on weekends) and think about the work that I need to complete for my clients. It’s really a joy to work at LAF with likeminded co-workers.”

Thanks, Barbara!

Leave a Reply

