Barbara Richardson: My Work Matters

Tomorrow kicks off LAF ‘s end-of-year campaign with #GivingTuesday.  Our campaign this year will center on the theme “My Gift Matters,” and we’ll spend December raising funds to support the work LAF does to provide high-quality civil legal services to low-income and disadvantaged people and communities throughout Cook County.  We’ll tell stories of how each of your financial contributions makes our work possible, and changes the lives of more than 40,000 people throughout Chicagoland each year.

In addition, we’ll also be posting every day on this blog with a feature we’re calling “My Work Matters.”  Here, we’ll highlight LAF staff as they explain in their own words why they support LAF’s mission every day.  We begin with Barbara Richardson, a Senior Attorney in our Consumer Practice Group.

Barb Richardson“I grew up in poverty on the Westside of Chicago.  I was raised by a single mother after my parents separated.  My mother was very complacent, and I felt that she was taken advantage of on many occasions.  As a result, I vowed to help people like my mother and other indigent individuals.  For over 23 years, I have given my life to helping people at LAF.  I love helping people to restore or to save their utility service to be able to see in their homes with electricity and to feel warmth in the winter.  LAF provides fantastic legal services, and I am proud to be a member of LAF’s staff.”

Thanks, Barbara!

Leave a Reply

