“You never think it can happen to you, but it can.”

On Tuesday, June 18, LAF client Yvonne Daily got up and told her story to over 500 people in a crowded ballroom.  We are pretty sure there wasn’t a person in the room, by the time she finished, who wasn’t profoundly moved by what she had to say.  Her speech is below.

DSC_5833-3

Good Afternoon Everyone, my name is Yvonne Daily and I am humbled and honored to say I am a client of LAF! And this is my dear friend, Kate Shank, she also happens to be my LAF attorney. It is so fitting for Kate to be by my side this afternoon because that’s where she’s been since the day we met.

Kate and LAF came into my life at a most devastating time. I was going through a divorce, foreclosure and no income, all while fighting stage 4 metastatic colon cancer.

The most crucial thing that Kate and LAF could help me with was to get my ex-husband to pay the court ordered maintenance owed to me, so that I wouldn’t have to worry about how I was going to pay for my life while I was trying so desperately to save it. Thanks to Kate and LAF, he did pay, which meant I could pay my mortgage, my utility bills and one of my most important purchases, my beloved Lazy Boy Chair! That chair lifts me up when I’m down, hugs me when no one else is available and lulls me to sleep every night! It’s magical!

My first impression of Kate was, she was sweet, caring and passionate about her work and my case. Watching her in the court room, I was sure glad she was on my side. She was brilliant! She left no stone unturned. And her eagle eye often found the most elusive details. I was so impressed and knew I was in great hands.

Kate made me feel like I was more than just a case. She not only helped me with my divorce, but let me know if I needed help with anything else, she would do her best.

And that I did! Last winter my furnace went out. I contacted Kate, soon after she had a name and number of someone that could help.

Before all this, I was really happy with the direction my life was going. Never in my wildest dreams could I have imagined that my journey would take such a drastic turn. But it happened! There’s an old saying, “you know where you’ve been but you don’t know where you’re going”. No truer words have ever been spoken. You never think it can happen to you, but believe me, it can, if not you, then someone you know and love.

That’s why it’s so important for us today to support LAF, because everyone regardless of their socio-economic status deserves the best care available. And that’s what LAF provides! Please use the donation envelopes on your table and be sure to give them to staff at the end of the luncheon.

Though I am still fighting cancer, thanks to Kate and LAF I am in a much better place.

Thank you. Please enjoy the rest of your day, God bless!

Leave a Reply

